Criminal Penalties for a DUI in South Carolina

A DUI charge in South Carolina comes with many consequences. If you find yourself in this situation, you’ll have to face several administrative penalties. You may also face criminal charges. Both of these punishments can greatly impact your day-to-day life, not to mention your future. That’s why it’s so important that you hire a DUI lawyer to assist you with your case. Here’s an overview of the criminal penalties associated with drunk driving from the DUI attorneys at the Law Offices of Michael L. Brown, Jr.

First DUI Offense

For a first-time drunk driving offense, you can expect to face a $400 fine, plus 48 hours minimum jail time. However, you could have to serve up to 30 days in jail. An alternative of 48 hours of community service may be offered.

Second DUI Offense

Your second DUI carries a fine of between $2100 and $5000. Jail time ranges from a minimum of five days to a maximum of one year.

Third DUI Offense

A third DUI charge comes with a fine of between $3800 and $6300. Your sentence comes with a minimum of 60 days in jail and a maximum of three years.

Fourth DUI Offense & Beyond

Anyone facing a fourth or subsequent drunk driving offense will face a court-determined fine. There’s also a minimum of one year in jail, but the sentence can stretch up to five years.

For Free Consultation Contact Rock Hill, SC DUI Lawyer

Your DUI lawyer will fight to make sure your rights are protected and that you get the best possible outcome. Talk to a criminal lawyer in Rock Hill, SC today at the Law Offices of Michael L. Brown, Jr.

Contact Us